Assignment Darklanding

A frontier world. One Sheriff. And all the action one Spaceport can’t hold. Darklanding is the wild, wild west of known space.

Sheriff Thaddeus Fry will never completely leave the battlefields of Centauri Prime. His new assignment, the Sheriff’s office of Darklanding, could be a do-nothing job, or it could get him killed.

The first thing he learns is that his predecessor’s headquarters were bombed, creating the vacancy that led to his appointment. The Company Man, is not who he expected, to say the least. His new accommodations are right in the center of Darklanding’s misfits. He finds one native of Ungwilook willing to talk to him and tries to make him a deputy. What really matters on Darklanding, are the mines.

Faced with a dangerous collapse that could kill hundreds of workers, he leaps into action and gets the story of Darklanding started. Fans of Firefly, Bonanza, and Tombstone will love this new series. Join us today and every 18 days, you’ll get a new episode of Darklanding.

Alien Texas

Alien invasions come in all shapes and sizes in this unforgettable book. But residents of Texas have their own unique methods for dealing with troublesome intruders from the stars. This 10,000-word short-story collection by the author of the Connor Rix Chronicles includes three tales from a Lone Star State dealing with unwelcome alien contact:

PERFECT CAPTURE

An Austin tech start-up is on the verge of releasing the Next Big Thing in virtual reality; perfect 3D re-creations of hip concerts, raucous civic celebrations and performances by beloved local artists. But when they “capture” their first event, they capture something else they never expected.

ONE LAST BATTLE

A disabled veteran of the alien wars on Gliese 832c tries to rebuild his life in the Gulf Coast town of Port Aransas. But he’ll find no rest until he figures out a way to deal with the hidden intruder he brought back from the war.

AFTER THEY LEAVE

The invading aliens were routed. The people of Earth remain free. But now a lone rancher has to deal with the creatures the aliens left behind. Are these horrifying alien species forgotten pets, escaped livestock, or something worse?


Diatomic Quantum Flop

Sure, the experience of the trip is euphoric, but what if you actually broke through the doors of perception? When four colleges friends are promised a psychedelic adventure that mirrors the Tibetan Kalachakra Time Travel Tantra, they discover the transcendental cost of tapping the wheel of time.

 

Tower

Tower Book Cover Tower
Daniel Arthur Smith
Horror Thriller
Holt Smith Ltd
October 26, 2015
ebook
45

Nate spent his entire career in special operations, four deployments in all. Today was going to be a fresh start in a civilian job. Now he's trapped in the Freedom Tower and the only thing the Ranger has against what's in the mist is a two-foot blade from the office paper cutter. This homage to Lovecraft, Ligotti, and King and should be read with a coffee, beer, or a glass of wine - and the light on.

This is a short story, and sometimes it’s nice to read a short story. Sometimes it’s nice to read a story in a couple sittings and not have to worry about complex mind-blowing plots and two-hundred characters. Reading to be entertained is nice. But this doesn’t mean the story is simple by any stretch. It’s every bit as entertaining as a full-length novel; the short time you spend with the characters you see their qualities emerge. And even though this is a standalone, you can sense there’s more to the events unfolding. That’s nice too.

So Tower is a short story which ends, but doesn’t quite end in the sense that you understand all that’s going on. It’s only the beginning and that makes you want to find out more of what’s happening. Very nice. 🙂

Soda Pop Soldier

Soda Pop Soldier Book Cover Soda Pop Soldier
Nick Cole
Science Fiction
Harper Voyager
August 2014
E-book
367

Synopsis:

Call of Duty meets Ready Player One in this fast-paced, action-packed novel from the author of The Wasteland Saga.  Gamer PerfectQuestion fights for ColaCorp in WarWorld, an online Modern Warfare combat sport arena where mega-corporations field entire armies in the battle for real world global advertising-space dominance. Within the immense virtual battlefield, players and bots are high-tech grunts, using drop-ships and state-of-the-art weaponry to wipe each other out.  But times are tough and the rent is due, and when players need extra dough, there's always the Black, an illegal open source tournament where the sick and twisted desires of the future are given free rein in the Wastehavens, a gothic dungeon  fantasy world.  All too soon, the real and virtual worlds collide when PerfectQuestion refuses to become the tool of a mad man intent on hacking the global economy for himself.

My take on it all:
A recipe for success: Take one-third future time dystopia, where the haves and have-nots are a world apart, one-third imaginary techno-Vietnam where the prize is marketing, and one-third old school Quake. Throw all that in a blender with ice, and then pour. And you have Soda Pop Soldier, a game noir science fiction novel that kicks conventional novel-wisdom in the teeth.

But don’t think this is just for fifty-year-olds who still live in mom’s basement and list “Level 100 Uber-Mage” as their best asset on a resume.

Nick touches on lofty ideas such as right vs. wrong, good vs. evil, and free will vs. determinism. While the hero PerfectQuestion doesn’t always make the best decisions, he’s understanding and growing, which is what we want to see in a hero.

This book is fun upon fun, sticking with you long after you finish turning pages. 🙂

Tango Desolado

Pablo Neruda’s Veinte Poemas de Amor y Una Canción Desesperada defined the heights of love and the depths of loss for generations of lovers, readers, and poets.

Tango Desolado is Samuel Peralta’s own canción desesperada, his song of despair, coming on the heels of this award-winning author’s book of love poems, How More Beautiful You Are.

In this collection, Peralta engages the reader in stories of loss – of love unrealized, unrequited, bereft – weaving hope, melancholy, and sorrow into a tapestry of emotion.

Poignant and intense, Tango Desolado is an extraordinary record of longing, one that will linger in the heart after its last words are read.